Kawasaki Z1000 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am new to this forum, this is my first post:) Not sure if this is the right place, but here is my "question":

I'm living in Denmark, and I am in the process of getting a classic Kawa. The one I am looking at is a Z1000 from 1977. I am not experienced used bike buyer, so any advise you can give is appreciated. What do I look for on the used bike, what are the "criticals" etc? Hope you can help, thanks.

Regards
Thomas

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Hi

I am new to this forum, this is my first post:) Not sure if this is the right place, but here is my "question":

I'm living in Denmark, and I am in the process of getting a classic Kawa. The one I am looking at is a Z1000 from 1977. I am not experienced used bike buyer, so any advise you can give is appreciated. What do I look for on the used bike, what are the "criticals" etc? Hope you can help, thanks.

Regards
Thomas
I would look at all gasket sealed compartments, date codes on the tires, if there are stretch spots in the chain, fork seals, does it run?, and if it doesn't, why not? Look for rust and cracks on structural welds, do all of the instruments work, do the brakes work, how old are the brakes, when was the last oil change, are there maintenance records, if the other party has taken it to a shop, what shop did they go to? I can list stuff off all day....

My best advice is to find someone who knows what they are looking at to take with you to look at the bike. It is too difficult to point out everything online that should be checked over, and be able deduce a fair price for the cycle without seeing it. (Unless it is a total pile of crap, and they want a ton of money for it... ...and that is usually obvious) I will say nice choice on bike!

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Dang! It looks like its in very nice condition.... Does it run? What are they asking for it?