Kawasaki Z1000 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As i have had my 15 z1000 for 5 years now, it has some scuffs and scrapes. I was thinking of respraying the bike in the original color 40R.

As a buddy of mine can get wrap quite cheap im switching to that option. I have some experience with wrapping flat surfaces. A Z is next level stuff.

Started off with a piece of wrap that was going to be scrap. As you can see, there is some trial and error

But this will not be the color, im thinking about doing it in chrome green.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G975F met Tapatalk

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What happens if the wrap gets scuffed?

Can you buff it out?
On Any paintjob with a clearcoat, you can polish out minor scratches in most cases.

Wrap was initially done to protect your paintjob from rockchip and minor scratches.
These days its more about visual customisation of ones vehicle.

To answer you question Doc, i think wrap can not be buffed out, not enouhg material to buff. I could be wrong though.

Im trying to preserve whats left of my paintjob and prevent any chances of rust forming on the tank. It gives me some time aswell to save up money for a proper paintjob. It will stay golden blazed green , when the time comes.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Wrll nit much debris, have a little roch chip on the tank. Pannier bags have sanded through paint til the plastic on some spots on the tail on both sides. Lugage rack, left some marks aswel around the seat. And some marks on the belly pan, after tipping over, when i squezed the brakes too hard, and wasnt fast enough to put my foot down

About 33k kilometer on the odometer now.
Most people dont even see it untill i show them. It gets more in my head rather than it is really visible.

·
Registered
48 Posts