Kawasaki Z1000 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently had my clutch replaced and a oil change but for some reason, whenever I go for top speed runs my bike tops out at 135 instead of 150 where it used to top out at. I have a 2016 Z1000 ABS, could it be that I need new spark plugs as I have 11K on the odo?

·
Premium Member
807 Posts
I am not a mechanic but you woukd know before going 135-150mph* if the plugs were starting to foul up.

Do the pipe deposits look like that of a tuned bike or one that is running rich?

What caused you to replace the clutch so early? Could that repair be the culprit?

How are your chains & sprockets?

Have you noticed any other areas of lower performance like take off, etc.

John Juan* would know, pm him & then share the answer here.

*& Comfysofa, Ungarisch, etc

Have you followed all the maintenance intervals?

Have you added any upgrades that are those speeds are actually slowing you down ie; slips on, etc.

Have you gained 30lbs in weight?

Are you using the same stretches of road to test?

Using the same gas? Or have you been through a couple of tanks?

At top speed is there any tell tale signs like oxygen starvation, gas shortage, etc.

Did they screw up putting the air box back on?

Is the accelerator cable worn out?

Has Covid 19 subconsciously adding a buffer so you dont end up in an ER?

*wtf I thought that I was the last idiot in the USA?

Where do you live, I might ride over there?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am not a mechanic but you woukd know before going 135-150mph* if the plugs were starting to foul up.

Do the pipe deposits look like that of a tuned bike or one that is running rich?

What caused you to replace the clutch so early? Could that repair be the culprit?

How are your chains & sprockets?

Have you noticed any other areas of lower performance like take off, etc.

John Juan* would know, pm him & then share the answer here.