Kawasaki Z1000 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
:dontknow:

There was an interesting post that gave me the idea about starting this thread. His post talked about the cc/hp laws you have to go by in Sweden.
His post:

http://www.z1000forum.com/forum/1637327-post15.html
In Summary:

"You have to be 15 to ride a moped in Sweden."
"At 16, in Sweden that is when you can get your first license for bikes of maximum 125cc."
"18 in Sweden you can get the license for bikes with less than 25 kW=34hp+/-."
"After having my license for 2 years, the limitation (for me only to drive "bikes with less than 25 kW) was over and it was time for a new bigger bike."

My experience:
It has been many years (since my boys grew up on dirt bikes) since I checked all the California USA laws for street bikes. I don't think we have any motorcycle cc/hp rules set by age or size other then 150cc or 15hp to get on a freeway in California. (mopeds are different) I think you can get a motorcycle permit at 15 1/2, but you can't ride at night, on a freeway or with a passenger until you get you Class M1 at 16. This might hold true for a permit at any age? I'm not sure what changes happen between 16 and 18 years of age, but you still might not be able to ride with a passenger until 18. Our testing and laws at the DMV has changed in California a few years ago so I might not be entirely correct on all counts. We used to (old school) go around in a figure 8, 2 or 3 times, drive a few hundred feet shifting up 3 times and down 3 times (if space allowed), all without touching your foot down. Bingo you got it. However, now the test (in CA) they painted a fairly tight circle on the lot and you have to keep your tires in between both inside and outside lines. Sounds easy but the circle is pretty tight and only 1/8 inch off full lock on my Z to get around it. Even though I'd had a bike license for over 25 years I had left the state for 4 years and didn't have a bike to take my test in Tennessee so I lost my class M1. After returning to CA I went to the DMV to update my license to CA again. I was told I'd have to take the written test and the driving test again or take a CHP class at 200 to 300 bucks to skip the driving test. I expressed my disappointment and told my story. She looked at me and said if I could remember my old license number she would let me slide on the driving test, do the written and give me my license! Fortunately, I remembered the number and skipped the class and the riding test altogether. I got lucky!
Now we are getting TV commercials for Can-am stating you can even get your M1 license riding a Can-am 3 wheeler! I just wanna know how they fit all 3 tires between both lines some 30" apart!!! Something just doesn't sound fair here, but then again what is.

I forgot to add you can skip the riding test by going to a CHP riders course instead.

Don't hesitate to correct anything I said wrong. This is all about learning the differences of laws, rules and regulations all over the United States and the rest of the world.:thumbsup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
752 Posts
Im in Cali too....so I cant add much to what you wrote. I would correct you about the riding test - you are not required to keep BOTH tires between those white lines - in fact, that would be impossible. You are only required to keep the front tire between the two lines. Cheat! Stand up and do it - it is actually much easier to do when standing!!! Also, they have cones that you have to weave through, turn at the top of the circle, then go back down between the cones.

I went into my test HELLA confident - and proceeded to immediately kick the first cone over. The guy laughed and said I technically failed right there, but gave me another chance. Then, while doing the tight circle move, he told me that I couldnt do it with my knee on the ground (I was doing it too fast! LOL!) Either way, I managed to pass.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
779 Posts
In Australia there's a few different ways to get your license. It differs slightly state to state, but here's the Queensland version.

For a start, you need to have held a car license for 12 months, then you're eligible to apply for you RE Learners license. RE is a restricted bike license enabling you to ride bikes up to 660cc and also 150kw/tonne (200hp/Tonne).

From there you can go a couple of ways. Either ride around on your L plate with someone on their open license for 6 months and then do a practical test with the Dept of Transport

or

Q-Ride. This is an intensive 2 day course designed to teach you everything you need to know Practically and Theoretically.

As far as the practical side it's pretty general abilities you need to master to pass. Slalom, Figure 8's, Slow riding, emergency stops, controlled stops, gears, hill starts and a public road ride. They're usually very strict on it all (At least when I did it).

Either way, you'll end up with your RE License which lets you ride LAMS Approved bikes (660cc and 150kw(200hp)/Tonne.

The next part varies a little. For people who did the Q Ride course with an open car license (Read not probationary), you have 12 months on a RE license then you can resit the Q Ride course, or take a prac test to go on to your open license which is as you guessed, completely free of restrictions.

For people who did the Q Ride on a Provisional license, you're going to be stuck on your RE (Restricted bike license) until you get your car open license. (Usually 3 years on P's)

I guess the advantage here being able to ride LAMS bikes is that it does open yourself up to a lot more bikes to learn on rather than just 250's and smaller. A lot of manufacturers have 650cc bikes with restricted throttles on to pass the 150kw/tonne rating. ER6n, Ninja 650, Aprilia SXV550, SV650S, FZ6R, CB400, GSX650F and the list goes on.. Obviously the 2 Stroke 250's don't make the cut because they have too much power to weight.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
Here In NSW, OZ there is only 1 way to get your licence.
Be 16 & 9 months of age.
Attend a 'pre learners' course ..2 x 4 hour days & pass
Sit your written test & pass. You then are able to ride any of the low powered bikes deemed Learner models.
You then have to attend a 'provisional riders' course ...1 x 8 hour day. & pass the MOST test, which includes things such as U turns, cone weaves, emergency braking & avoidance...& a Street ride under instruction.
Pass this & then you are deemed a Provisional rider for the next 12 months & still stuck on the low powered bikes.
At the end of this 12 months..pay more $$ & you can ride anything :)

& you dont have to have a car Licence to be allowed to ride a bike.​
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So-Crates;I would correct you about the riding test - you are not required to keep BOTH tires between those white lines - in fact said:
So my Son was right! I was there and the guy giving his test told him that. He actually made it once around while slipping the clutch and keeping the revs up. So the guy tells him to do it again and he fails in a couple feet! The guy was a jerk and didn't like the fact he had leathers, boots and a skull helmet and said so (more or less) before the test. After mentioning the Yoshi modified exhaust of course. After the test he said "you failed for touch the rear tire on the line and maybe you should have that idle checked."
Funny, Even though I have my license, we all believed him :mad: and 3 of us have spent 30 minutes several times on Sundays practicing but never getting it right! (don't I feel dumb) :lol: And you are right it is impossible to do, twice for sure, no matter how much we practiced.
I wouldn't recommend the Compton, CA DMV even if it is empty all the time. Jerk (to put it nicely!)
My Son and his wife are downstairs laughing right now about how easy the next test will be now that they know... Thanks!
See, Forums are a GOOD thing.:thumbsup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Good idea for a thread! Didn't think of that.

Here are the exact rules for bike and car licences in Sweden:

Age 15
Your allowed to drive a moped of maximum 50cc with a speed limitation of 25 km/h (15.5 mph) without any licence.

If you get a licence, you have a speed limitation of 45 km/h (28 mph).

Age 16
You can get your first real bike licence ("light MC" we call it). The bike can have a maximum of 125cc and 11 kW (15 hp).

You can also get a permit to start practice driving for your car licence.

Age 18
You can get a bike licence for bikes of maximum 25 kW (35 hp) or a maximum of 0,16 kW/kg (0,48 hp/lbs) ("Medium MC").

You can also get your licence for car.

Age 21 or have had a "Medium MC"-licence for 2 years
You can get a licence for any bike, no limitations. (If you have had "Medium MC" for 2 years, no tests are required. You'll get it automatically.)

These are very silly rules. I have no problem with the three steps, I my self went through all of them and got some real driving experience before allowed on a big bike.

The silly part, I think, is that you at age 18 can get your car licence. No limitations. So if you have the money, you're allowed to go out and drive any super sports car you'd like. I think there should be limitations in the car licence aswell.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
519 Posts
Here in Washington State (USA) all I had to do was take a 25 question written test then take the skills test which takes about 20 minutes. As long as your over 18 you dont have to take any of the training classes. We can also ride any bike of any cc also. Gotta love this state!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Here in Quebec Canada, you first take your theory course of 40 hours. You then go to the license bureau and pas a writen test. Once passed you have a leaner's permit. With the learner's permit you can only ride on the road with the instructor of the course which last about 20 hours. Once this is completed, you go to the license bureau and get a probationary license. With this license, you can only ride if you are accompanied by somebody on another bike who has had his license for at least 2 years, and you cannot have a passenger on your bike. After one year with the probationary license, you take a road test and if you pass, you get your full fledged license. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. Adding the motorcycle class to your license adds a fee of about $65.00 per year and the registration costs for a motorcycle are as follows: Sportbike(R6, GSXR, ZX):$1350.00 per year. Regular bike(Z1000, harley):$630.00 per year. THIS IS CORRECT, IT IS NOT A TYPO!!! The bikers here in Quebec are very happy because the gouvernment has decided to drop the registration fees by about $100.00 per year but will add a new motorcycle fee of about $255.00 for the first year that you own your bike, because they say you have more of a chance to have an accident within the first year because you are not used to riding it. TRY TO BEAT THAT!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I think you got them all beat! Geez you would think that they don't want you to ride a motorcycle, save gas and squish less bug while driving down the road. Maybe they just don't like loud pipes? Absolutely insaine!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
519 Posts
Here in Quebec Canada, you first take your theory course of 40 hours. You then go to the license bureau and pas a writen test. Once passed you have a leaner's permit. With the learner's permit you can only ride on the road with the instructor of the course which last about 20 hours. Once this is completed, you go to the license bureau and get a probationary license. With this license, you can only ride if you are accompanied by somebody on another bike who has had his license for at least 2 years, and you cannot have a passenger on your bike. After one year with the probationary license, you take a road test and if you pass, you get your full fledged license. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. Adding the motorcycle class to your license adds a fee of about $65.00 per year and the registration costs for a motorcycle are as follows: Sportbike(R6, GSXR, ZX):$1350.00 per year. Regular bike(Z1000, harley):$630.00 per year. THIS IS CORRECT, IT IS NOT A TYPO!!! The bikers here in Quebec are very happy because the gouvernment has decided to drop the registration fees by about $100.00 per year but will add a new motorcycle fee of about $255.00 for the first year that you own your bike, because they say you have more of a chance to have an accident within the first year because you are not used to riding it. TRY TO BEAT THAT!!!


I think some canadians need to have a tea party...or something!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
261 Posts
talking about the Can-am spyder and trikes , here in PA they have a special M license for them, if you take your test on a "traditional motorcycle" you can ride either, but if you take your test on a spyder or trike you can't ride a "traditional motorcycle".
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top