Kawasaki Z1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a 06 z1000, after falling over on right side while idling it now has a heavy knock on right side of engine that increases with rpm, pulled stator cover, plugs, turning motor over by hand with a breaker bar it's smooth except in one place it binds a little then it "skips" a little, no resistance, then back to smooth.
Anything other than smooth consistent 360° rotation is bottom end right. Please HELP.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
453 Posts
I am not a Mechanic but a couple of times following accidents before a bike eventually started, either through push starting or waiting 20 minutes, I too experienced a heavy knock without the bike starting up.

But I have a suspicion that if you have gone through the trouble of doing all this as you detailed, you too have had many falls before & experienced a similar knocking that was resolved.

Did you wait some time & try starting it again or did you immediately go through the diagnostic process?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Waited 2 hrs to crank, started just fine but was knocking instantly, I'm familiar with cars, 0 experience with bikes but it sounds heavy, visual inspection of chain and cams, just can't fathom it falling over while idling would do this, ran perfect before, killed engine within 30 sec of falling...

·
Premium Member
453 Posts
You are way ahead of me in this one Mate.

Was there any deformity of the Cases?

Was it a hard* fall or soft?

Have you tried laying it all the way over on its left side - worth a try.
20200319_165331_resized.jpg
20200318_214456_resized.jpg
20200326_000440_resized.jpg
20200319_165444_resized.jpg

*I was sideswiped 18 days ago & the bike landed on my body, the Puig Frame Slider & eventually the crankcase - what you can see ground down on the crankcase & what was left of the Slider is similar to what happened to the left side of my body.

·
Registered
8 Posts