FI Light - Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 05-11-2015, 04:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
FI Light

Hi All,
FI indicator is flashing with no obvious adverse affect to the bike ,e.g. no starting issues ,power loss etc , just flashes occasionally . Also how do I pull up fault codes . Bike is Z1000 2009 Any ideas ?.......Thanks
keltikboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 05-11-2015, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
The_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lockport, NY... or near Buffalo
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Turn the key to "on" then push "mode" until your odometer displays, then hold "mode" for more than 2 seconds. It will display a 2 digit number.
The_Z is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 05-11-2015, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Northwest UK
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
My FI light flashes quite often but it always resets with the ignition, and nothing appears when I try to read the code.

It nearly always happens if I cruise for a couple of miles at the point where the vibration is worst. Like the original poster said, there's no effect on performance while it's flashing. Mine is a 2010 Z1000.

2010 Z1000 Akrapovic 4 into 2, Maxton revalved/resprung forks and rear shock with remote reservoir, Ivans ecu and block-off plates, Rizoma bars, PCV, Lightweight battery, R&G fender eliminator and sliders, HEL stainless brake lines, Galfer rear rotor, HyperPro steering damper, Active q/a throttle, Ninja 1000 SX wheels.
Doug_UK is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 Old 05-11-2015, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
The_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lockport, NY... or near Buffalo
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Yea it could always be something stupid, or could be very important.

For the few seconds it takes to check... I would do it and see if it's something that needs to be addressed.

Oh and Doug_UK, I'm not sure of the third gen is the same procedure but I'd gamble it is . This is straight from the manual for 07-09.
The_Z is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 05-11-2015, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
cooldudesmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stockbridge, GA.
Posts: 1,733
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_z View Post
for the few seconds it takes to check... I would do it and see if it's something that needs to be addressed.

+1


'03 z
cooldudesmd is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 05-12-2015, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cheers will try this tonight ,do fault codes only appear if fault is active or can you scroll through historical faults ?
keltikboy is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 05-12-2015, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
The_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lockport, NY... or near Buffalo
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
It stores all faults, they will scroll automatically. It shows current faults in numerical order, then stored faults.
The_Z is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 05-14-2015, 01:04 PM
jvs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for posting this guy's.

Gonna have to check my 2010.

I was out riding in the rain this morning and dropped the bike down to 1st gear at about 35mph to slide the rear around a little and the fi light blinked for a second or two.
jvs is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-14-2015, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
The_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lockport, NY... or near Buffalo
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Double check your procedure, it may be different then the 2nd gen... I would get is the same though.
The_Z is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-20-2015, 03:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My does the same occasionally flashes with no adverse affect usually resets after switching off ignition. Does not display any fault codes ???????
keltikboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome