Exhaust servo removal - Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-17-2019, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Zar16Z1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Exhaust servo removal question

Do I need to tune/dyno the bike after removing exhaust servo?

2016 Z1000

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Zar16Z1000; 01-18-2019 at 01:33 PM.
Zar16Z1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-20-2019, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
no buddy,
Trebor4460 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-06-2019, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Bandicoot92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebor4460 View Post
no buddy,
so when we install the new exhausts we just remove the servo cables and thats it?
Bandicoot92 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 Old 05-06-2019, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
yep, cables out and leave the motor there to spin, then you get no f1 light ..
Trebor4460 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-06-2019, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
My 2017R didn't have servo and valve on either of stock exhausts!
thisisme is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-07-2019, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
usually onlly 1 servo, and its mostly for meeting regs, if u in the states might be lapser regs to meet,
Trebor4460 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-13-2020, 01:07 AM
Member
 
TheDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: 2016 Z1000 in the Hollywood Hills, California
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
This is what both SERVOBUDDY & IXIL Exhausts shared with me - I am replacing the 2016 Stock Exhaust with the IXIL SX1, it's not a performance issue but aesthetics & sound - cleans the bike up so small children approach the spaceship but both they & adults run away when the engine starts;

From Jeremy at Servobuddy;

Hello Dr. Mark,

You can leave your original exhaust components (factory exhaust pipe, exhaust control valve, exhaust valve push/pull cables) intact if you wish (rather than replacing with a full exhaust system), however it is recommended that you disconnect the servo motor from the cables and remove it completely from the bike, the valve will be spring loaded and default to the full open position as long as the original motor has been removed. The cables can stay, just zip tie them up out of the way so they don't get caught up in anything. The Servo Buddy's purpose is to prevent codes when the original exhaust servo motor is removed, therefore if you have no codes, and the original motor is removed, it is working. There are no additional concerns for your particular model. Hope that helps, if you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Jeremy Decker, customer service

e. [email protected]
p. (970) 639-0513
w. www.skutr.net



From Chris at IXIL

Mark,
I have a had a few customers mention that they used the Servobuddy. I personally do not have direct experience with installing the Servobuddy so I can not speak in depth about it but from what I have read and heard it is a must for removing the errors after a full exhaust install. After all you are just removing more weight from the bike which is always a good thing. We will have to look into the distribution for this product it would be a nice addition with the exhaust. Thanks for all your input.
Chris

[email protected]
Phone 317-284-1348
TheDoctor is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-14-2020, 02:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Koggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA Orygun
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Garage
Hi Doc! I just unhooked the cables at the exhaust and zip tied them out of the way -as Jeremy described. Later I re-attached them to the stockers for a three day journey. Once back home I re-zip tied'm. No error codes, ever.

I believe I later just took the cables out and vowed to never put the stock exhaust back on. No servo, although I have one rtg if ever needed.

do you have a pic of your rig somewhere?

_____
bone stock. sorta.
Koggs is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-14-2020, 06:29 PM
Member
 
TheDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: 2016 Z1000 in the Hollywood Hills, California
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koggs View Post
Hi Doc! I just unhooked the cables at the exhaust and zip tied them out of the way -as Jeremy described. Later I re-attached them to the stockers for a three day journey. Once back home I re-zip tied'm. No error codes, ever.

I believe I later just took the cables out and vowed to never put the stock exhaust back on. No servo, although I have one rtg if ever needed.

do you have a pic of your rig somewhere?
My bike arrives in the next few days, sometime between the 18th & the 21st & its probably why I am waffling on about the Z rather than riding it.

Why did you reattach your stock pipes for the 3 day journey?

Here is a photo of the Z in the owner's* garage in Florida, it only has 900 miles in 2 years but the reason I knew this was the best opportunity in the USA was the Blue Donut seat in the picture.

*owner was 5 foot 7 Japanese guy, meticulous about everything but said it was too much bike & I believed him - he said the dealer in San Diego didn't allow test rides on the Z new & he fell in love with it through Z Forum & other reviews but within 50 miles of leaving the dealership he realised; much too much Bike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG952325.jpg (103.7 KB, 2 views)
TheDoctor is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-14-2020, 06:31 PM
Member
 
TheDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: 2016 Z1000 in the Hollywood Hills, California
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Hopefully it doesn't have the 4th Generation 4th gear issue like so many people talk about as I purchased the bike without physically testing it.

Bike is completely stock.
TheDoctor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome