Gear indicator - Page 2 - Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums
User Tag List

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 Old 03-24-2018, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
When you start letting out clutch it says gear so if you hit a red light in 6th, slow to a stop, shift to 1st and let clutch out just a little bit but still at a stop it will go 6-5-4-3-2-1. But as soon as you shift into gear about prolly .5 seconds it shows. So if you have clutch lever fully pulled it won’t show you changing gears.

It helps from avoiding fishing for seventh also if you do wheelies it’s a must I can’t tell you how many times I thought I was in 3 and I was in 2, it’s so hard to guess with the Z
twurz96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 Old 03-24-2018, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: salt lake city, ut
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadline View Post
Does it show the gear you are in right away or only when you start moving in that gear? In other words, if you are sitting at the light and shift into 1st gear from neutral, does it show that gear right away or does it show the last gear you were in while moving ?

It depends on when you have shifted down to 1st gear....


Thats such a stupid answer, but its true.


If you rolled up to the stop sign and downshifted...like 3....2...1, while rolling, you'll see the correct gear displayed. AS LONG AS you have cycled your clutch.



However, if you do like everyone else.....you will be in third, lets say.


You pull in the clutch, as you are coasting to a stop, and drop 3...2...1.....


Theres no letting the clutch out, just a smooth coast down. At that point, no. It wont show you in first until you let out the clutch.


This sounds like a problem, but anyone who does not realize they have shifted down to first has to be very inexperienced. In no time at all, they will have this figured out.


The indicator is most useful for avoiding that impossible shift to 7th gear.


Its also pretty easy to summarize how this works, too. You wot get a proper indication of the gear you are in unless you cycle the clutch AND the bike is moving.
Deadline likes this.
rcannon is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 04-15-2018, 10:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
no more guessing for me.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2018-03-25 at 9.53.25 AM.png (948.4 KB, 45 views)
Deadline likes this.
Kawi Lou is offline  
 
post #14 of 20 Old 05-15-2018, 01:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Looks like more shopping for me! On my old bike (SV650) I could tell what gear I was in just by my speed and sound of the engine...but I had been riding that bike for 9 years so knew it really well. Not to mention it was a v-twin and itís a bit easier to hear the difference than what it is with an inline four.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2E1gixxer is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 08-31-2018, 04:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
How do you pass the wire from the front to the back? I assume under the tank, but how?

Thanks!
lowspeed is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 09-05-2018, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
BriansZ1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowspeed View Post
How do you pass the wire from the front to the back? I assume under the tank, but how?

Thanks!
If it was me I'd lift the tank and ziptie the wire to the frame.

2010 Black/Silver
BriansZ1000 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 10-02-2018, 07:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Got one from Chinese off of eBay. It works excellent and the gear numbers appear almost instantaneously with no delay. Came with green and blue indicator and took about 20 minutes to install nicely, run along the frame to the front. About $40. I'm happy with it.
mambopalace is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 10-02-2018, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Ludi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Do u have a link for it
Ludi is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 07-17-2019, 12:49 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I hooked mine up to the diag. Plug under the seat. I believe into the correct holes as my plug wasn’t pinned at first. B&Y Ground R&Y power and White data? It cycles then blinks “F” fault?.
EbayZ1 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 07-21-2019, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Ludi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
I bought one from amazon and it’s been working great for like 6 months now .
Ludi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome