Gen 3 handlebars - Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-09-2017, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Gen 3 handlebars

Hi,

I've always found myself holding the handlebars with half my hand on the grip and he other on the bar end. They've always felt quiet narrow to me. I've been thinking for a while about changing them but I'm unsure which ones to get. I'm 6'3 so I'm fairly tall and would want something that would make it a bit more comfortable too.

Been looking at renthal road fat bar, any good? Are they wider? Do they even fit the bike?

Also how easy is it to change the bars?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Newcreation777 likes this.
Gibson230891 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-09-2017, 04:25 PM
Super Moderator
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sapulpa OK
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Garage
First, there is only one handlebar.

Any 1 1/8" bar will fit. They are like 1mm smaller in diameter than the stock bar. Lots of people run Renthal fatbars on here and love them. I wanted lower and narrower and I'm 6'4" but I came from supersports so a handlebar is already too wide.

The only thing you'll run into is the stock bar ends wont work with an aftermarket bar as the inserts are welded in the stock bar, and you will either have to grind the tabs off the switch housings or drill holes in your new bar to align them.

"You're not drunk until you have to grab the grass to keep from falling off the Earth."

"It's not a party until someone throws up on a stripper."

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day."



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
92K1500 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-09-2017, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnJuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Garage
Ooh, I have a spreadsheet that I thought I shared in another thread.

Please note that all measurements are in millimeters. Bars without brand noted are pro-taper. I have the Pro-Taper Adventure EVO, and quite like it. they're pretty wide. I'm 6'0" with about a 6'4" wingspan and a 34" inseam.



Also try searching for other handlebar threads:

https://www.google.com/search?q=site...utf-8&oe=utf-8


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JohnJuan is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 Old 05-10-2017, 07:08 AM
Super Moderator
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sapulpa OK
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Garage
I forgot about our lovely clamp. I'll get a measurement of it when I get home. Make sure whatever bar you get has a wide enough clamp area or you will bend/crack your clamp. I've seen it happen.

"You're not drunk until you have to grab the grass to keep from falling off the Earth."

"It's not a party until someone throws up on a stripper."

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day."



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
92K1500 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-10-2017, 07:17 AM
Super Moderator
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sapulpa OK
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Garage
Hey @JohnJuan, add the Rizoma MA009 to your list.

Also, where did you get the width spec for your stock bar? There is no way it is narrower than everything else. I replaced mine with a Rizoma MA008 which they no longer make (same specs but 2 degrees more pull back than the MA009) and the stock bar was too wide to fit into the rizoma box.

https://www.motovationusa.com/images...ebar_chart.pdf

"You're not drunk until you have to grab the grass to keep from falling off the Earth."

"It's not a party until someone throws up on a stripper."

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day."



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
92K1500 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-10-2017, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
JohnJuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92K1500 View Post
Hey @JohnJuan, add the Rizoma MA009 to your list.

Also, where did you get the width spec for your stock bar? There is no way it is narrower than everything else. I replaced mine with a Rizoma MA008 which they no longer make (same specs but 2 degrees more pull back than the MA009) and the stock bar was too wide to fit into the rizoma box.

https://www.motovationusa.com/images...ebar_chart.pdf
I'm not sure where I got those stock values. I made this like a year and a half ago.

Here's my picture of the two side-by-side:




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JohnJuan is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-18-2017, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Sorry guys totally forgot I started this thread. Great info there thanks.

Can anyone recommend a good bar for some of my height? I also like a wider bar. As said I tend to find me myself holding the bar ends quiet often.

How do you measure width off he bar? Is it just straight across or do you follow the bar round if you understand what I mean?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gibson230891 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-18-2017, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnJuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibson230891 View Post
Sorry guys totally forgot I started this thread. Great info there thanks.

Can anyone recommend a good bar for some of my height? I also like a wider bar. As said I tend to find me myself holding the bar ends quiet often.

How do you measure width off he bar? Is it just straight across or do you follow the bar round if you understand what I mean?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah, it's just straight across. You can make a spreadsheet in excel or LibreOffice Calc, like I did. ProTaper, Rizoma, Renthal and others post their handlebar dimensions online. I just copied and pasted into my spreadsheet.

Nearly all of the ProTaper bars are 120mm (5 inches) wider than stock. Width is measured to the inside edge of the bar-ends. Please post the measurement you get if you measure the stock bars..

I'm not really that much shorter than you, and the Pro-Taper Adventure Evo feels kinda wide to me. Your local dealer probably has a rack with these and other dirt-bike bars on it that you can put your hands on, so you don't have to order them blind.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JohnJuan is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-18-2017, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
No my local dealer only has a few standard renthal bars chucked on the bottom shelf.

Do they feel more comfortable to you over the stock bar?

I was thinking of going wider and slightly lower but not sure if that's the best thing to do?

Also I have racing braided brake lines (2 lines straight from master cylinder) are there any issues with fitment?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gibson230891 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-21-2017, 07:05 AM
Super Moderator
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sapulpa OK
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Garage
I have speigler brake lines (2 lines) and a shorter, narrower bar. There seems to be enough slack to go out another 1-2" easy.

"You're not drunk until you have to grab the grass to keep from falling off the Earth."

"It's not a party until someone throws up on a stripper."

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day."



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
92K1500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Z1000 Forum: Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome